Obama stuns me

Most of you know I’m not a big fan of Obama’s and all of you know why, I think this Iranian deal is going to be a problem for the world.

BUT, when he gets it right, I must admit, he can really get it right.

While speaking to college students at a town hall in Des Moines Iowa yesterday he said something so profound, so correct, that was clearly spontaneous and showed such a depth of understanding — that it puzzles me how naïve and arrogant he can be when it comes to foreign policy.

Here are his wonderful remarks, word for word, speaking important truth, on the subject of political correctness, speech codes and the liberal college establishmenst penchant for only allowing liberal views any exposure.

President Obama – “It’s not just sometimes folks who are mad that colleges are too liberal that have a problem.”

“Sometimes there are folks on college campuses who are liberal, and maybe even agree with me on a bunch of issues, who sometimes aren’t listening to the other side, and that’s a problem too.”

“I’ve heard some college campuses where they don’t want to have a guest speaker who is too conservative or they don’t want to read a book if it has language that is offensive to African-Americans or somehow sends a demeaning signal towards women. I gotta tell you, I don’t agree with that either.”

“I don’t agree that you, when you become students at colleges, have to be coddled and protected from different points of view. I think you should be able to — anybody who comes to speak to you and you disagree with, you should have an argument with ‘em. But you shouldn’t silence them by saying, “You can’t come because I’m too sensitive to hear what you have to say.” That’s not the way we learn either.”

Right on Obama!

Unfortunately Donna Shalala, (one of his top advisors for years and currently one of Hillary’s), while Chancellor of University of Wisconsin, actually imposed speech codes and still defends them.

But Shalala is basically a communist and although I never understood it before, the President’s thoughts above clarify something for me, maybe he didn’t agree with Shalala on this issue (and others) he just kept her around his inner circle for diversity of opinion. If that’s true — it solves a huge mystery for me; I can FINALLY classify this president, he’s a Woodrow Wilson archetype, smart, but a President who should have been/stayed a college professor.

About karlspain

20 year Newspaperman. Lifelong Inventor. Wrote 2 books so far, working on more. The Revelation, 1st book, about your brain & the universe, and math. Hooked together! God I trust, America I love, 2nd book, is the biography of Aris Mardirossian, a great man. Also owned a software company, an IT integration company, a gas station and a fuzzy logic software title along the way.
This entry was posted in Obama, Right On Obama and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Obama stuns me

  1. mark says:

    Long after the Univ of Wisconsin, Shalala was an incredibly great university president for >15 years at the University of Miami – taking it into the top 20 colleges in the country. There were no speech codes at that University. She grew as her career blossomed. By the time my child and i got to know her, she was a loving leader tolerant of all points of view if expressed with respect.

    Also, Biden will not be entering the race.

Leave a Reply

